Being anti “social”

It was four days without Facebook, texting, and Instagram. Four busy, boring, and glorious days. I know that isn’t much of an achievement, but at the same time it’s not exactly a small thing either. This desire to be connected, instantly entertained and known, is a strong one. It’s all so pretty and shiny and… needy… so I left.

I needed a break. I needed a break from talking about nothing and never being able to make a clean getaway. I needed to stop checking and looking and trying to see what was happening or what wasn’t happening. I needed to stop trying so hard at being noteworthy and liked; so when someone(s) unfollowed me on Instagram I took it as an opportunity to just stop.

But still I’m asking; how do you become a bigger fish in an ocean full of billions and millions? How do you do anything worth people commenting on and arguing over? And then maybe more appropriately I ask myself: How do you get to a point of not caring whether or not you had 3 likes, no likes, or a hundred? How. Is the uphill battle worth it? Is shouting into the void hoping that an echo will make its way back to you, worth the sore and tired throat?

It was wonderful taking a break from everyone else’s need and my own lonely self pursuit. To my complete surprise I didn’t miss a thing, and I could have gone longer quite happily, but the curiosity started to build a bit, and somehow everyone else’s edited truth and glorified fictions, make my day-to-day feel a little less trapped in the middle of no where.

Community means something different now than it did before. How we relate to each other is affected by the technology we choose or avoid. So what am I looking for? How am I wanting to connect? How do I want to be known and understood?

Social media isn’t a bad thing, it’s just not the only thing.

Leave a comment